Congrats! You Discovered Ancient Greek City!

Sparta is the city seat for White County and was established in 1809 and was named after the ancient Greek city-state, Sparta. Sparta, Tennessee nearly became the capital of the state in its ealry years and the state legislature voted to choose a location for the permanent state capital. Sparta lost to Nashville by one vote. Be sure to check out our other exciting geotrail locations in the county.

Unique Visit Code:


Want to continue your adventure?  Click here to see list of sites.  Sites are listed in suggested travel order.